Published: June 11, 2023

EL elects new Executive Committee and President

Šibenik, 7 June 2023 – During the EL General Assembly on 7 June in Šibenik (Croatia), Members elected a new Executive Committee for the period 2023-2025 and appointed Romana Girandon, CEO of Loterija Slovenije, as the first female EL President.

”I am delighted to be elected EL President at this year’s General Assembly. This is a real honour, and I would like to thank the Members for trusting me to lead EL in the next mandate. Over the coming years, I look forward to fulfilling my role together with a strong and experienced Executive Committee, to prove that we, The European Lotteries, are here to benefit society. Together we can make a difference and provide a new momentum for a sustainable and responsible future. I would like to thank especially, the outgoing President Hansjörg Höltkemeier, now EL Honorary President, for his dedication and commitment to EL over the past eight years and wish him all the best for the future. ”


Romana Girandon, EL President

Executive Committee 2023-2025.jpg

From left to right: Jan KARAS, Jannie HAEK, Olgierd CIEŚLIK, Jesús Almendro HUERTA, Stéphane PALLEZ, Romana GIRANDON, Rosangela ROBBIANI, Hansjörg HÖLTKEMEIER, Niels ONKENHOUT, Olli SAREKOSKI & Jean-Luc MONET-BANET

The General Assembly took place on the occasion of the 11th EL Congress & Trade Show in Šibenik, Croatia from 4- 7 June 2023. Under the overarching theme ‘’Looking Forward – Lotteries of the Future’’, this was an opportunity to reconnect and learn from inspiring keynote speakers as part of a forward-looking programme.


  1. The newly elected members of the EL Executive Committee are (in alphabetical order): Olgierd CIEŚLIKTotalizator Sportowy Sp. z o.o (PL), Romana GIRANDONLoterija Slovenije, d.d. (SI) & EL President, Jannie HAEKLoterie Nationale Loterij (BE), Hansjörg HÖLTKEMEIERDeutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin (DKLB) (DE), Jesús Almendro HUERTASociedad Estatal de Loterías y Apuestas del Estado (SELAE) (ES), Jan KARASOPAP (GR), Jean-Luc MONER-BANETLoterie Romande (CH), Niels ONKENHOUTNederlandse Loterij (NL), Stéphane PALLEZ, La Française des Jeux (FDJ) (FR) & EL 1st Vice President, Rosangela ROBBIANI, Sisal S.p.A. (Italy) and Olli SAREKOSKI, Veikkaus Oy (FI) & EL 2nd EL Vice President.
  2. During the General Assembly, EL welcomed Loterie Korunka and Malta National Lottery as new Regular Members and OpenBet and Fennica Gaming as new Associate Members.
  3. EL Members adopted updates to the 2019 EL Antwerp Resolution on advertisement for games of chance, now known as the Antwerp-Šibenik Resolution 2023.

© Public Gaming Research Institute. All rights reserved.